Who’s She With Now…?

As quite a few of you are aware I am quite a big Whovian… You will also be aware I have never written about my passion for this particular gem in our cultural treasure chest… There are a number of reasons for this… Lots of people have written lots of words on the subject of our favourite mad-man and his amazing blue box… Most of them with a lot more insight/talent/financial incentive, some with barely the intelligence to string two coherent sentences together… Well, your wait is over… You are about to endure my thoughts on our Doctor…

Aren’t you lucky?

Oi!! Come back!!!

So why haven’t I written about Doctor Who before? You ask… You mean apart from the reason given above?* Well, honestly, I’ve not had much to say before now… Truth to tell, I don’t think I have much to say now but here goes…

I think what’s different now is that I finally have a Doctor I really like…

I feel I should qualify that last statement…

[Brace yourselves ladies and germs, he’s about have a nostalgia warp… I give him three maybe four sentences… quick, jump ship now… go, go now… before he gets into his stride… ]

{Oh do shut up…}

He’s right though… we will be doing the wibbly wobbly timey wimey thing….

Doctor Who holds a very special place in my heart… I know it will do for a lot of you that are suffering through this turgid mawkishness… and please, feel free to share your experiences, I promise I might even read them ๐Ÿ˜‰ … but for now, here’s mine…

Some of the earliest memories I have revolve around Doctor Who… I can still picture my Gran sitting with her glasses almost touching the screen because she loved it so much… Did I mention that my Gran was, to all intents and purposes, blind..?ย  Well she was… I still don’t remember getting away with much when in her care though, so her SuperGran senses were working well enough ๐Ÿ™‚

Another sparkling neuron flashes up echoes of a conversation with my parents on the way home with our new puppy, I was adamant she should be called Bessie (after the Pertwee Doctor’s yellow car)… It didn’t work, she was eventually called Bess… It was my mother’s dog so I suppose she had the right to name her…

So that’s a bit of background for you… As you can see our sonic wielding spacetime traveller has been part of my life for quite a while… alright, quite a long while… you didn’t have to point that out… hummpphhhhh…

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not one of those people that sits in a room surrounded by videos, dvds, books and memorabilia (I save that particular privilege for the works of The Creator ;), able to quote entire scenes, or can describe in detail the various controls on the TARDIS console, and tell you with absolute certainty exactly how long Baker II took to turn into McCoy, or what colour socks Adric was wearing when he drove that spaceship into that planet (or even if it was a planet, it could’ve been another ship for all I can remember… No, I’m not going to gloogle it, you can if you want… I’ll wait…ย  ) I’m not having a pop at uber-geeks… I like uber-geeks… I’m quite an uber-geek myself when it comes to the ouvre of The Creator… I’m just saying I’m a bit of a Whovian and I have been for most of my life…

So, having lived through Pertwee and Baker, endured the mockery of Atkinson (yes, I know it’s not canon, I’m making a point) and even enjoyed about 15% of the McGann travesty… So when I’ve known some of the best Doctors why do I only now say that I’ve found a doctor I like? And now that I’ve actually written that down I’m now actually going to have to think about it…

[You mean you’ve waffled away half an hour {Oi, give my readers some credit} oh OK, maybe 7 1/2 minutes {Glod, you can be such an arsehole sometimes!} I’m sorry, who’s inner editor am I?]

Boy this is hard… All this time I’ve been thinking that writing essays was hard but with them all I have to do is link two facts in an interesting way… This is more of an exploratory expedition into my own inner workings… Something The Creator dubbed “Third Thoughts”…

Well, here goes… I have engaged the inertial (emotional?) dampeners but there are grab rails if this entire thing spirals out of control… I’ve spent most of my life inside this head, I know how rough it can get in there… Just saying…

Previous Doctors have given us some great moments… Eccleson’s Doctor when he encounters a Dalek in the return… Baker in Genesis of the Daleks….ย  Smith’s Doctor taking Van Gogh to meet The Curator… Hartnell’s introduction (missed lines and everything)… Tennant at the end… I’m sure you got lots more of your own… and I assure you, these aren’t all of mine… But for every Doctor dances moment there was a “Big Brother” reference… For each Jelly Baby offered or Loss of a Companion there has been a Let’s Talk To The Tin Dog…ย  Bow ties and big scarves may be cool but mismatched patterns and celery are not…

Now, I don’t want this to become a list of things wrong or even a litany of “If I’d been in charge…” I accept that even the Great scripts of our favourite Gallifrayan can sometimes have gaping plotholes, a bit too much reliance on the old Sonic Screwdriver or an improbable confluence of TARDIS, Jammy Dodgers and the aforementioned Tin -ing Dog… The Statue of Liberty walking across New York and not one person raised an eyebrow or called the cops?! You sure?!

So why has this new Doctor… For the benefit of future historians reading this for research, (though if you are, why?) the new Doctor I am referring to is The Capaldi Doctor (I refuse to call him 12, the twelfthย  or any other numeric referencing devices)… become my favourite after just two (at the time of writing) episodes? I think it’s all down to his current darkness… Yes, I know a lot has been said about this being a dark Doctor and I’m adding to that but this is not just a “Oh he’s “dark” now… won’t that be fun”…

I have of course had the conversation with my friends about who this Doctor reminds me of…ย  Usually it is along the lines of “He has touches of Baker, a degree of Hartnell and just a splash of Baker II”… I had it with Eccleson, Tennant and Smith, and will probably have it again when Capaldi regenerates… But this time it was different… This time The Doctor is different… This time he doesn’t remind me of any previous Doctor… Believe me, this makes all the difference… Each Doctor is supposed to be his own man but previously it was always possible to see the influences on the actor portraying him… Not, I’ll admit, with Eccleson but that’s probably because he needed to be something new… As was highlighted by his outfit… Actually, that’s been a regular feature of Whoverse for a long time now… “It’s new Doctor time folks, let’s check out his new threads and see what it means”… Honestly, I don’t actually like that side of Doctor Who fandom/promo… I don’t care what the Doctor wears… It’s not the clothes that maketh the man…

So what is it? If it’s not the clothes? Not the darkness? Not the “Oo he’s just like…”? I think it’s the fact that I don’t know this Doctor…

Hartnell = Grumpy old man…

Pertwee = Fop…

Davidson = Cricket-playing Wet Rag…

McGann = Frustrated Action Hero…

Tennant = Running Pretty Boy…

So who is this new Doctor? Is he the sort of man that would push someone to their death? Ooops sorry… Will we be having another Messiah moment from this one? Will there be any more totally irrelevant football? Another encounter with Bertie Bassett? I bloody well hope not!!!

This Doctor is cold. He’s sophisticated. He’s angry. He’s cruel. He’s funny. He’s selfish. He’s exasperating. He’s everything all the previous incarnations have been but he is not a previous Doctor… He’s The Doctor. He’s My Doctor.

And do you know the best thing about this new Doctor? We’ve still got most of his stories to come ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh BTW, this isn’t the blog I intended to write… that’s probably why it doesn’t make much sense… What I was originally going to write was why I think Clara Oswald is the perfect companion… But I think that will have to wait until next time…

Thank you for your patience… I’ll let you get back to your life now ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

*See Above

2 comments on “Who’s She With Now…?

  1. Pingback: Oh Glod! Has he got another essay due? | inthewordsofnevyn

Leave a Reply

