More Pointless Words

I am a Geek.

Yeah I know, it’s not a particularly earth-shattering revelation to most of you but sometimes I find it hard to find just the right words to open one of these acts of verbal assault.

So yes, a Geek. As a geek I can, at times, get rather more excited about certain areas of my particular areas of geekdom than others… and when I say “others” I mean both other areas of my geekdom and other geeks… Those of you that know me personally will be able to confirm that I am quite a fan of Sir Terry Pratchett and his sublime Discworld franchise. I’m also a bit of a Trekker… not to the point of going to conventions dressed as a tribble or spending thousands of hard-earned per-diems on a replica captains chair and a “working tricorder” but I can tell the difference between a next gen engineers uniform and a classic series command shirt…

Now, like most geeks I have my favourites and my “not-so-much’s”… Don’t worry this is not going to end up a list of my yea’s and nay’s…

[Thank Anoia for that!]

BUT, I will attempt to put my geekdom into some sort of context…

As I may have mentioned before I am a great fan of Sir PTerry and his Discworld… even to the point of actually wanting to live there… Personally I think he is one of the greatest writers ever born… Other people will say the same for Agatha Christie or James Patterson, Meave Binchy or even (Glod forbid) Dan Brown… and I can completely understand that [except possibly Dan Brown] {Yeah, well that goes without saying}… the fact that their particular genres and/or writing does nothing for me doesn’t mean that I don’t understand other peoples enjoyment of them…

The same goes for Television and Movies and even Music… If a certain Blue Box were to arrive in the road outside as I were writing this I would be through the doors before the laptop even hits the floor… no questions asked. If I were asked to visit Westeros or take a trip on Serenity I wouldn’t even pack a bag before shouting “Let’s Go!!” Step through a Stargate… where do I sign up?

As for Movies… Personally I think that Avengers Assemble is one of the best movies ever made… yes, I know it has flaws but I don’t care… I could sit and watch the Star Trek reboots for an entire day and not get bored… but I could say the same for It’s a Wonderful Life, The Green Mile, Schindler’s List and various versions of A Christmas Carol/Scrooge…

Music? Queen. ’nuff said! Oh alright… Led Zep, G n R, Johnny Cash, Powderfinger, Cosmo Jarvis, Kate Bush to name but a few… I learned over the years to never apologise for my musical taste… Other people like Madonna, Steps, Micheal Jackson, One Direction, that is entirely up to them and while I may not like [or even understand] some of their musical choices I will not try to prevent them from listening….

Oh alright, I may take the mick but we all do that and it’s never malicious…

Here’s the thing though… there are certain areas of geekdom I don’t like… I don’t like Star Wars… and no, this isn’t just a reaction to the prequels… I realised long before they were vomited onto movie screens that actually the whole Star Wars thing was an over-rated, derivative cash making enterprise with very little originality or real emotional interest… As far as I’m concerned anyway…

It’s just the same with books… One series that appears on just about every list of “greatest sci-fi/fantasy” is Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever… a series I cannot stand! Many people over the years have tried to get me to read beyond the first half of book three but I just cannot do it… I know people that cannot get past book 5 of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series… Not me of course, I love them, but some people just cannot do it… I don’t blame them… it’s a convoluted and verbose series…

One aspect of geekdom that some may find troublesome is our very natures… when we love something we want to share… we want others to feel about a book, film, comic, small plastic alien that we do… we challenge each other to try it… “go on, just try it. I promise you’ll love it” is something that I have said and had said to me… funny really, you don’t get foot-the-ball fans saying: Go on, just one match, you’ll love it… You don’t get athletics fans arguing whether the London Olympic track is better than the Barcelona one the way a pair of geeks will discuss the relative merits of the Enterprise over the Liberator… Mind you, Boxing fans have been known to argue hypothetical matches in the same vein as geeks arguing Spidey vs Batman…

As I’ve already admitted I have been known to proselytize about certain aspects of my geekdom (and if you have been on the end of my barrages I apologise) but I will admit that I don’t like it… I can hear myself doing it and I cringe inside… Somebody will ask “what can I read?” and the word “Discworld” is out of my mouth before I can stop it… and I hate myself for doing it… I don’t want to be a boring geek, who only talks about one aspect of my geekdom… I don’t want to be the discworld equivalent of the guy at a convention Q&A saying something like: “In season 3, episode 12, character A told character B that the force proton emitters that control the gravity impulse diverter was in section 5 deck 63b but in the official manual it says that the force proto….zzzzzzzzzz”

I want to be an interesting geek… I want to be able to chat about lots of areas of geekdom but there are just some areas and programs/movies/books/comics that just don’t tickle my interest…

While I love The Walking Dead I cannot even be bothered to watch True Blood

Sandman yes. Green Lantern no.

Harry Potter… gimme (and I don’t care if it’s the “children’s” edition I’m reading on the tube)! Twilight… not if you gave me complete worldwide legal and taxation immunity…

Quite a few years ago a movie by the name of Titanic arrived into the international conciousness… at the time everybody I knew either wanted to see it or to see it again… everybody except me. I have never wanted to see it. I cannot explain why. I just don’t. But for weeks, just about everybody I spoke with asked the same question… “Have you seen Titanic?” and upon hearing my answer would immediately say “you’ve got to see it!” as patiently as I could I would try to explain that it held no interest for me only to hear yet another variation of “yeah you say that but wait until you’ve seen it” but I don’t want to or intend to see it, I would repeat and I would get “but you  must!” almost as if I could not be allowed to not be interested…

It still happens today… Have you seen Breaking Bad? OMG Lost. You have to watch it! What do mean you haven’t seen The Killing?! Now I’ll admit I have given in to some pressure and read a book series or watched a program or two and even enoyed some of those that I have been convinced to try… But, I do still hold back from most of the exhortations… because you see for every BSG or Nurse Jackie there is a Heroes or Alphas… I’m not saying that Broadchurch or Hannibal or Dexter or The Wire are shit… I’m not saying that you are somehow defective because you enjoy them… I’m just saying I don’t want to see them…

In the same way that I don’t say you are wrong to not like Discworld or that you have a problem if you prefer Beyonce to Annie Lennox…

I may say: You haven’t read Watchmen? I may be amazed that you have never watched an episode of Doctor Who… I may even [read WILL] then spend the next half an hour trying to convince you to pick up The Boys or watch Man of Steel and I will probably – with tongue firmly in cheek – question your tastes but I won’t badger you to the point of you wanting to offer me physical violence (as happened during one of the interminable Titanic conversations all those years ago)… If you don’t want to watch/read/play something that I love it is your choice…

It is one of the many failings of geekdom that we all want people to love the things we do and get quite confused when they don’t… but we all have to realise that sometimes what we love isn’t for everybody…

I tell you what, If I promise not to try and make you read every David Gemmel book (or watch every episode of Spaced) you promise not to push me to read Clive Barker or watch Avatar again…

I will respect your right to say (and I hope you’ll do me the same courtesy) when asked why you don’t want to watch/read/play: Because I Don’t.

 

Leave a Reply

